by Fabian Delago 

Countless problems - countless opportunities

We live in a world where we have to deal with problems like global warming, poverty, overpopulation or natural disasters. Measures such as the shutdown of nuclear power reactors are implemented to cause less damage to the environment, electric cars are manufactured to counteract exhaust emissions, product packaging is made from sustainable materials, etc.

What can be done to make cities more liveable?

Cities are often agglomerations for such problems, as many people live there and are often themselves triggers for these problems. In order to improve the quality of life in cities and generally protect the environment, actions are implemented, such as the expansion of bicycle lanes. The inhabitants are encouraged to travel more often by bicycle than by car, in order to reduce exhaust emissions.

The Digital Twin

One answer to this is "digital twins". It is a true-to-scale virtual representation of a city with its own ecosystem. Buildings, living creatures, weather and other necessary aspects of a city are simulated in real time. In this way, possible measures can be simulated in a true-to-life environment in a resource-saving way without having to test them in the real world. This saves time, money and also protects against the negative effects should a measure not work. Furthermore, forecasts and analyses can be created to predict and prevent a disaster, for example.

The city of Helsinki has already reached the point where it has almost completely digitized its city. This is more than just a faithful reproduction of the original: The goal is to simulate a dynamic and living environment in which the behavior of air, water, light, pollution and living creatures is mapped. The digital twin is, for example, able to simulate wind and its effects.

 

Ingolstadt is also already busy creating a digital image of the city with the "SAVeNoW" project. This project focuses on autonomous driving and has simulated traffic situations, traffic lights and the like in order to be able to simulate the behavior of autonomous vehicles. In addition, the digital twin is also intended to improve general traffic safety and efficiency.

Where is the connect to gaming?

The value proposition and the dangers of virtual worlds 

Video games are often viewed with mixed feelings: for some they are an escape into an alternative world to escape real life problems or simply to relax after a day at work, for others the danger of losing oneself in these virtual worlds and thus losing touch with the real world and the social environment. 

In Japan, there is even a term for socially distant people: Hikikomori. These people do not necessarily live only in video game worlds, but they have withdrawn almost completely into their homes and limit contact with society to a minimum.

Learning in virtual worlds 

Gaming has many positive aspects to offer in a social and economic context. It has been scientifically proven that playing games improves reaction time, coordination skills, coupling ability, creativity and other characteristics. 

Cognitive learning has, for example, the Sim Racer Enzo Bonito to beat the real racing driver Lucas Di Grassi on a real race track in a race for time.

Minecraft as a teaching tool

 

Meanwhile, the game "Minecraft" is increasingly used by schools as a teaching tool. An organization called "MinecraftEdu"(https://education.minecraft.net/) was even founded to support teachers. The game can be used, for example, to build up maths understanding in a playful way. The tutor Oliver Planner, for example, uses Minecraft to teach area calculation.

Can gaming make the world a better place?

From the gaming industry's point of view, the commercial environmental idea is in any case advantageous. By acting in an environmentally conscious way, the reputation of the industry increases, e.g. among parents, and thus also sales. When children/young people consume environmentally friendly gaming products, this leads to increased environmental awareness among them. For example, Microsoft's new Xbox Series S gaming console no longer has a CD drive, which leads to fewer CDs sold and this in turn protects the environment from even more plastic waste. Interfaces between the gaming industry and other industries such as automotive can also be beneficial to both parties. Racing game developers can benefit from the experience of the automotive industry and vice versa. This may result in ideas and approaches that can be integrated into the real world.

But it's not just the gaming industry that can do its part to make the world a better place, gamers themselves can make a difference too. 

Knowledge learned in video games can be transferred to the real world.

Knowledge is the only real Superheropower!

In games like Roblox, SIMS, Animal Crossing, Age of Empires, or Minecraft, millions of people every day engage in building and managing virtual worlds under clear conditions and succeed or fail in their simulation games - but there is one skill all players learn: Resilience and they all learn that it is better to do something and experience it than to leave it as it is.

What ideas are generated in gamers through the experience of such games and how can these be transferred to the digital twins of real cities? 

With the Force of Disruption, we try to strengthen the dialogue between government agencies, the business community and the games industry in real campaigns and events. 

Experienced gamers, such as eSports players, are familiar with the environment of virtual worlds and often have a high demand for realism in games. Together with their experience from virtual worlds and the motivation to achieve perfection, they form a solid basis for bringing about real change. The younger generation can also open up new perspectives with their unbiased creativity. For example, from a child's point of view, a car is not as important for getting around as it is for a working adult. Often a completely new perspective on things helps to develop new ideas or solutions to problems.

PWC and Force of Disruption want to launch the "Future of Mobility" project in cooperation with the IAA using Roblox . Pupils, students and companies can participate.

The aim of the project: to implement ideas for the future of mobility in the digital twin and thus make them tangible.

Each participating team can create its own world in Roblox and make the ideas a gamified experience. The best ideas will then be presented at the IAA 2021 and possibly even realized in the real world.

Who wouldn't want to see a new mobility concept 5 years from now and say, "Hi, That was my idea!"

Conclusion:

The gaming world is a source of great potential that has hardly been tapped yet. If society realizes the possibilities there are and the benefits that can be drawn from gaming, then we could soon be living in a completely different world.

von Fabian Delago 

Unzählige Probleme – unzählige Chancen

Wir leben in einer Welt, in der wir uns mit Problemen wie Klimaerwärmung, Armut, Überbevölkerung oder Naturkatastrophen beschäftigen müssen. Maßnahmen wie die Abschaltung von Atomenergie-Reaktoren werden durchgeführt, um beispielsweise der Umwelt weniger Schaden zuzufügen, Elektroautos werden hergestellt um der Abgasemission entgegen zu wirken, Verpackungen von Produkten sind aus nachhaltigen Stoffen gemacht etc.

Was kann getan werden, um die Städte lebenswerter zu machen?

Städte sind oftmals Ballungszentren für derartige Probleme, da dort viele Menschen leben und oft selbst Auslöser für diese Probleme sind. Um die Lebensqualität in Städten zu verbessern und allgemein die Umwelt zu schonen, werden Aktionen umgesetzt, wie z.B. der Ausbau von Fahrradstraßen. Die Einwohner werden ermutigt sich öfter mit dem Fahrrad als mit dem Auto fortzubewegen, um den Abgaswert senkt.

Der Digitale Zwilling

Eine Antwort darauf sind “Digitale Zwillinge”. Es sich um eine maßgetreue virtuelle Abbildung einer Stadt mit ihrem eigenem Ökosystem. Es werden Gebäude, Lebewesen, Wetter und weitere notwendige Aspekte einer Stadt in Echtzeit simuliert. So können mögliche Maßnahmen in einer originalgetreuen Umwelt ressourcenschonend simuliert werden, ohne sie in der realen Welt testen zu müssen. Das spart Zeit, Geld und schützt außerdem vor den negativen Auswirkungen, falls eine Maßnahme nicht funktionieren sollte. Des Weiteren können Prognosen und Analysen erstellt werden, um beispielsweise eine Katastrophe vorherzusagen und dieser vorzubeugen.

Die Stadt Helsinki ist mittlerweile schon so weit, dass sie ihre Stadt nahezu vollkommen digitalisiert hat. Dabei handelt es sich um mehr als nur eine originalgetreue Abbildung: Ziel ist es eine dynamische und lebendige Umgebung zu simulieren in der das Verhalten von Luft, Wasser, Licht, Verschmutzung und Lebewesen abgebildet ist. Der digitale Zwilling ist z.B. in der Lage Wind und dessen Auswirkung zu simulieren.

 

Auch Ingolstadt ist mit dem Projekt “SAVeNoW” schon mit der Erstellung eines digitalen Abbilds der Stadt beschäftigt. Bei diesem Projekt steht das autonome Fahren im Mittelpunkt und es wurden Verkehrssituationen, Ampeln und dergleichen simuliert, um das Verhalten von autonomen Fahrzeugen simulieren zu können. Außerdem soll durch den Digitalen Zwilling auch die allgemeine Verkehrssicherheit und -effizienz verbessert werden.

Wo ist der Connect zum Thema Gaming?

Das Wertversprechen und die Gefahren virtueller Welten 

Videospiele werden oft mit gemischten Gefühlen betrachtet: für den Einen sind sie die Flucht in eine alternative Welt um Problemen des realen Lebens zu entfliehen oder sich nach einem Arbeitstag einfach zu entspannen, für den Anderen die Gefahr sich in diesen virtuellen Welten zu verlieren und so den Bezug zur realen Welt und zum sozialen Umfeld zu verlieren. 

In Japan gibt es sogar einen Begriff für sozial distanzierte Menschen: Hikikomori. Diese Personen leben zwar nicht zwangsweise nur in Videospiel-Welten, haben sich aber nahezu vollkommen in ihr Heim zurückgezogen und beschränken den Kontakt zur Gesellschaft auf ein Minimum.

Lernen in virtuellen Welten 

Gaming hat sehr viele positive Aspekte im gesellschaftlichen und wirtschaftlichen Kontext zu bieten. Es ist wissenschaftlich nachgewiesen, dass durch das Spielen von Games Reaktionsfähigkeit, Koordinationsfähigkeit, Kopplungsfähigkeit, Kreativität und andere Eigenschaften verbessert werden. 

Kognitives Lernen hat zum Beispiel den Sim-Racer Enzo Bonito dazu befähigt, den echten Rennfahrer Lucas Di Grassi auf einer echten Rennstrecke in einem Rennen auf Zeit zu schlagen.

Minecraft als Lehrmittel

 

Mittlerweile wird auch vermehrt das Spiel “Minecraft” von Schulen als Lehrmittel genutzt. Es wurde sogar eine Organisation namens “MinecraftEdu” (https://education.minecraft.net/) gegründet um Lehrkräfte zu unterstützen. Das Spiel kann z.B. dazu genutzt werden, um Matheverständnisse spielerisch aufzubauen. Der Nachhilfelehrer Oliver Planner z.B. nutzt Minecraft um Flächenberechnung zu lehren.

Kann Gaming die Welt zu einem besseren Ort machen?

Aus Sicht der Gaming-Industrie ist der kommerzielle Umweltgedanke jedenfalls von Vorteil. Durch umweltbewusstes Handeln steigt der Ruf der Branche z.B. bei Eltern und dadurch auch der Absatz. Wenn Kinder/Jugendliche umweltfreundliche Gaming-Produkte konsumieren, dann führt das bei ihnen zu einem erhöhten Umweltbewusstsein. Die neue Spielekonsole Xbox Series S von Microsoft beispielsweise besitzt kein CD-Laufwerk mehr, was zu weniger verkauften CDs führt und das wiederum schützt die Umwelt vor noch mehr Plastikmüll. Auch Schnittstellen zwischen der Gaming-Industrie und anderen Branchen wie z.B. der Automobilindustrie kann für beide Parteien von Vorteil sein. Rennspiel-Entwickler können von der Erfahrung der Autoindustrie profitieren und umgekehrt. Daraus entstehen möglicherweise Ideen und Ansätze die sich in die reale Welt integrieren lassen.

Doch nicht nur die Gaming-Branche kann ihren Teil zu einer besseren Welt beitragen, auch die Gamer an sich können etwas bewirken. 

In Videospielen erlerntes Wissen kann auf die echte Welt übertragen werden.

Knowledge is the only real Superheropower!

In Spielen wie Roblox, SIMS, Animal Crossing, Age of Empires oder Minecraft befassen sich tagtäglich millionen Menschen mit dem Aufbau und der Verwaltung virtueller Welten unter klaren Bedingungen und sind in ihren Planspielen und Simulationen erfolgreich oder halt nicht – aber eine Fähigkeit erlernen alle Spieler: Resilienz und alle erfahren, dass es besser ist besser etwas zu tun und damit zu erfahren als es zu lassen, wie es ist.

Welche Ideen entstehen bei Gamern durch die Erfahrung mit solchen Spielen und wie können diese auf die Digitalen Zwillinge echter Städte übertragen werden? 

Wir versuchen mit der Force of Disruption den Dialog zwischen staatlichen Stellen, der Wirtschaft und der Gamesbranche in echten Kampagnen und Events zu stärken. 

Denn erfahrene Gamer, wie z.B. eSportler, sind mit dem Umfeld virtueller Welten vertraut und haben sehr oft auch einen hohen Anspruch auf Realismus in Games. Zusammen mit ihrer Erfahrung aus virtuellen Welten und der Motivation, Perfektion zu erreichen bilden sie eine solide Grundlage um echte Veränderung zu bewirken. Auch die jüngere Generation kann mit ihrer unvoreingenommenen Kreativität neue Perspektiven eröffnen. Ein Auto beispielsweise ist aus Sicht eines Kindes nicht so bedeutend für die eigene Fortbewegung wie für einen berufstätigen Erwachsenen. Oftmals hilft eine komplett neue Sicht auf die Dinge, um neue Ideen oder Problemlösungen zu entwickeln.

PWC und Force of Disruption wollen in Kooperation zur IAA unter Verwendung von Roblox das Projekt „Future of Mobility“ ins Leben rufen. Es können Schüler, Studenten und Unternehmen teilnehmen.

Ziel des Projekts: Ideen für die Zukunft der Mobilität im Digitalen Zwilling umzusetzen und damit erlebbar zu machen.

Jedes teilnehmende Team kann in Roblox seine eigene Welt erstellen und die Ideen gamifiziert erfahrbar machen. Die besten Ideen werden dann auf der IAA 2021 vorgestellt und möglicherweise sogar in der echten Welt realisiert.

Wer würde nicht gerne in 5 Jahren ein neues Mobilitätskonzept erleben und sagen: “Hi, Das war meine Idee!“

Fazit:

Die Gaming-Welt ist ein Quell großen Potentials, welches bisher noch kaum abgeschöpft wird. Wenn die Gesellschaft realisiert welche Möglichkeiten es dort gibt und welcher Nutzen aus Gaming gezogen werden kann, dann könnten wir bald in einer völlig anderen Welt leben.

Interesse an News und Updates aus der eSports und Gaming Welt?

Unser Newsletter wird alle 2 Wochen an Ihre E-Mail Adresse versendet. Der Force of Disruption News Radar - mit relevanten News, Insights und Zahlen zu den Themen eSports, Gaming und Business Innovations. Join us!

Wir freuen uns Dich mit News zu versorgen!